Ry Cooder to Release “UFO” Anthology on 10/28

Rhino says:

Two CDs, 34 Tracks, 38 Years. From Crossroads to the Buena Vista Social Club and all points in between, Ry Cooder is legendary. Rolling Stone ranks him number 8 on their 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time.

The UFO Has Landed: The Ry Cooder Anthology collects Cooder’s most memorable cuts from his solo albums, including “Maria Elena,” “Jesus On The Mainline” (video above), “Boomer’s Story,” “I Got Mine” and “Available Space.” The latter, a Cooder original on his debut, got its name from the album’s producer Van Dyke Parks, who saw the words on an empty billboard on the way to the studio.

Click here to preview some of the Cooder Anthology’s tracks (QT). Track list after the jump.

The UFO Has Landed: The Ry Cooder Anthology

01 Get Rhythm
02 Low Commotion
03 Available Space
04 On A Monday
05 Do Re Mi
06 Which Came First
07 The Very Thing That Makes You Rich (Makes Me Poor)
08 Down In Hollywood
09 Smells Like Money
10 Let’s Work Together*
11 I Got Mine
12 Cherry Ball Blues
13 Jesus On The Mainline
14 Tattler
15 Teardrops Will Fall
16 Maria Elena
17 Jesse James

Disc Two
01 Paris, Texas
02 Theme From Southern Comfort
03 Tamp ‘Em Up Solid
04 Billy The Kid
05 Crazy ‘Bout An Automobile (Every Woman I Know)
06 Drive Like I Never Been Hurt
07 Feelin’ Bad Blues
08 Boomer’s Story
09 How Can You Keep Moving (Unless You Migrate Too)
10 Alimony
11 Always Lift Him Up/Kanaka Wai Wai
12 Theme From Alamo Bay
13 Dark End Of The Street
14 Why Don’t You Try Me
15 Poor Man’s Shangri-La
16 Going Back To Okinawa
17 Little Sister

*Previously unreleased

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.