The Sound of The Smiths, Hits & Rarities 2CD, Out 11/11

Just in time for Black Friday, the good people at Rhino will release a 45-track Smiths compilation that “collects it all: Hits, B-Sides, Live Cuts & Rarities”. The Sound of the Smiths will be available as either a single-disc or two-disc collection on Nov. 11.

The single disc version won’t include anything on Disc 2, which looks to be the disc over which existing fans will drool.

As with past Rhino releases, a selection of the compilation’s can be streamed here.

In other exciting news for Smiths fans, a digital re-release of their entire catalog will follow this compilation.

Our friend Rob says:

The Smiths were the definitive British independent band of the ’80s, releasing a remarkable series of singles and albums between 1983 and 1987 that was both commercially and critically successful. The Smiths laid down a marker for guitar pop-rock that remains unsurpassed. They were the inspiration for the guitar-driven rock that dominated the ’90s and for the spiritual revival of today’s indie scene.

Disc 1
1. “Hand in Glove” – Single Version
2. “This Charming Man” – Single Version
3. “What Difference Does It Make” – Peel Sessions Version
4. “Still Ill” – Album Version
5. “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now” – Single Version
6. “William, It Was Really Nothing” – Single Version
7. “How Soon Is Now?” – 12″ Single
8. “Nowhere Fast” – Album Version
9. “Shakespeare’s Sister” – Single Version
10. “Barbarism Begins At Home” – 7″ Version
11. “That Joke Isn’t Funny Anymore” – Single Version
12. “The Headmaster Ritual” – Album Version
13. “The Boy With The Thorn In His Side” – Single Version
14. “Bigmouth Strikes Again” – Single Version
15. “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” – Album Version
16. “Panic” – Single Version
17. “Ask” – Single Version
18. “You Just Haven’t Earned It Yet Baby” – Single Version
19. “Shoplifters Of The World Unite” – Single Version
20. “Sheila Take A Bow” – Single Version
21. “Girlfriend In A Coma” – Single Version
22. “I Started Something I Couldn’t Finish” – Single Version
23. “Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me” – Single Version

Disc 2
1. “Jeane” – Single B-Side
2. “Handsome Devil” – – Single B-Side, Live 1983
3. “This Charming Man” (New York vocal)- 12″ Single
4. “Wonderful Woman” – 12″ Single
5. “Back To The Old House” – Single B-Side
6. “These Things Take Time” – 12″ Single B-Side
7. “Girl Afraid” – Single B-Side
8. “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want” – Single B-Side
9. “Stretch Out And Wait” – Single B-Side
10. “Oscillate Wildly” – 12″ Single B-Side
11. “Meat Is Murder” – Live In Oxford – Single B-Side
12. “Asleep” – Single B-Side
13. “Money Changes Everything” – Single B-Side
14. “The Queen Is Dead” “Take Me Back To Dear Old Blighty” – Medley
15. “Vicar In A Tutu” – Single B-Side
16. “Cemetry Gates” – Single B-Side
17. “Half A Person” – Single B-Side
18. “Sweet And Tender Hooligan” – 12″ Single B-Side
19. “Pretty Girls Make Graves” — Single B-Side, Troy Tate Version
20. “Stop Me If You Think You’ve Heard This One Before” – Album Version
21. “What’s The World?” -Live In Glasgow
22. “London” – Live In London

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.